|
|
:: Thursday, December 30, 2004 ::
The holidays always make me feel sad. I don't know why, they shouldn't. They're always about shopping and giving, and recieving, and physical gifts don't matter as long as everything comes from the heart. As long as there is someone to give to.
Sometimes, I feel like such a fat dolt.
I walked through White Flint at five o' clock on Christmas Eve. I rambled through stores, just looking at the things i probably could not afford.
There was a man playing the piano. In the middle of the dark mall. I asked him to play Clair de Lune, but he said he was told only to play Christmas music.
I drove home, listening to Holy Night playing on the radio.
:: Alina 12:09 AM
stage manager:
Want to tell you something abou that boy Joe Crowell there. Joe was awful bright -- graduated from high school here, head of his class. So he got a scholarship to Massachusetts Tech. Graduated head of his class there, too. It was all wrote up in the Boston paper at the time. Goin' to be a great engineer, Joe was. But the war broke out and he died in France. -- All that education for nothing.
:: Alina 2:43 PM
Rahh. They're on the fat thing again. Oh my God, can i get NO peace???
Let's see: now it's my grandparents and both my parents that are not even hinting that i need to lose weight. They just blatently spout out that i am fat, and that no one will ever love me. God. Have I really gained that much weight? Dude, i go to the Gym every few days, i do not understand this obsession. I'm sure it's their favorite topic to go on about. Plus of course, after dinner, my grandmother goes into a thing about what i should do to lose weight. Apparently, all i really have to do is suck the stomach in, and poof! its gone! My grandmother herself is not exactly the ideal bowflex model, hey ho does she love to talk. My lord, according to my family, men rule the world, women must know how to cook, and beauty ( and the resulting marriage) is the most important thing known to man. Of course, according to them, those "damn" americans don't know know how to cook, or dress, and are disgusting filthy.
I need another sibling, though who knows, if she's thin, I will never be good enough, and thus life would be even more aweful.
One final note: AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!
whew.
:: Alina 4:36 PM
| You Were Mostly Nice This Year! | Sure, you had your naughty moments... but guess what?Santa was probably sleeping when you were living it up.As far as he's concerned, you've been on your best behavior.So cross your fingers, and you might score good presents. |
Were You Naughty or Nice This Year?
:: Alina 1:31 PM
†What a goodly thing,
if the children of the world
Could dwell together
In peace.
:: Alina 4:49 PM
Charlotte Church is a washed up star.
So what else is new?
Just heard her the end of her "concert" on WETA. Yeah. Medea calls me up to tell me to listen to how BAD it is. A few songs from Enchantment were decent, but her later stuff is...inexplainably bad, quite camparable to the performance of Candide last year. Richard, if you're reading this, im sure you're shaking your head in recollection. Yeah. Charlotte's voice was shaking and to quote my voice teacher, "she sounded like an old lady."
That wasn't very good quoting on my part, and so i deeply apoligize to whoever cares enough about me to read this. It did get the point across though.
She gained weight too, and I'm only mentioning that because I'm always criticized for it.
Was about to insert picture, then realized she's not even worth that.
:: Alina 9:28 PM
today, we froze.
IB trip to Smithsonian. Guess they were feeling guilty about giving the 11th graders a trip to UMCP. Though I did quite enjoy the not being in school bit, the weather...
Vat vere zees people thinking?!?!??!?
Walk to Metro. Walk to Museum. Walk to Lunch at Natl Gallery. Walk To Metro. Walk to School. Anyone see a problem with this taking into account the a) Cold b) wind, and c) the combination thereof.
Actually, I cannot completely complain. Since we got to Smithsonian 1/2 hr before the museum opened, (good going RM planning) Maddie's dad drove up in his Jag. and treated us to Starbucks. After the dash to the Rockville Metro, our group was quite grateful.
Our "trip" itself was a bit on the pathetic side. Though I must say, it was quite interesting seeing a museum in DC I'd never seen before (African Art) most of the exhibits were closed, and thus we ended up seeing the museum in all of 30 min.
Anyhow, lunch was more fun than the "experiance" mentioned above, as it did not involve attempting to draw, and did involve food. New Years is obviously coming up, and it'd be fun to do the annual New Years Eve thing. Then of course my 18th birthday on the 4th. ( My God...am I really that Old? * picks up cane*) Hopefully Sam and I can arrange something, and I can get my own party plans under way.
Anyhow, so we all had to return to Smithsonian metro ( Mrs. Soloman's bright idea may I mention to walk to the farthest metro station possible from Natl. Gallery (where we'd had lunch)) Yeah. A group of us walked with Mr. Thomas. A farcical discussion took place. Yep.
On a completely different tangent, I love skiing. :)
We went for the first time yesterday, and it was great fun.
My parents and I took the first lesson with six other people, and by the end of the hr and 1/2 , only my dad and I were left. My mom and others chickened out/got cold.
ON THE BUNNY SLOPE!
Actually it was quite similar to rollerblading down Montgomery Village ave*., difference being that a) I wasn't wearing shorts b) there was soft snow c)there was ample space to move around in.
* The allusion to the rollerblading incident that took place this summer. I, one that doesen't rollerblade well, decided to take my rollerblades to the shopping center on Montgomery Village ave. As some of you know, Montgomery Village is REALLY HILLY. There I was, with stopping ability, skating down/up the sidewalk in shorts. The idea was that I could skate - the figure skating does help -
Anyway, anyhow, this is less dangerous (for now) and fun, and my instructor said I could skip the 2nd class and go to the third. Whoopie! ( <-- boy, do I sound excited)
:: Alina 10:58 PM
wow. The comeback career of Alina's blog. My oh my.
My recent hobby has been reading other people's posts, many of which tend to be quite personal. It's amazing how much you get to know a person through their posts.
Ergo the return of the blog.
Anyway.
I've been screwing up lately, and I don't know why in particular. My college stuff is belated, and I struggle between overstressing and completely ignoring my work. It's really quite odd; I have these days where I cannot concentrate on anything school related, anything that actually matters. It's been happening quite frequently these past few weeks. How wonderful is that, the time I really need to concentrate is the time i can't get any work done. It's not even an exuse. I'm really bitched out at myself. And because of my not being able to do work, I end up staying home about one day each week[last three weeks I counted]. How completely retarded is that?
I know it sounds silly, but I really sometimes feel like I could be ADD.
Everyone is getting into college. And here I am. It's crazy. I feel bland. Very, very bland.
Let's see: Sam got into MIT, Emily got into Smith, Pin yi got into Stanford, Jess/Beth got into Penn, Jamile/Kelli got into Georgetown, Meg L. got into Vasser, Dana got into Emerson, Berger got into Hopkins, and that's all I can remember for now. I think I just had to post that, even though everyone already knows about it.
Again i say, life is crazy.
Except for Goucher and Maryland, i don't think i have a chance to get into colleges. If i go to Goucher, I'll be paying tons of money I don't have, to then transfer to Hopkins. If I go to Maryland, I wont be able to transfer to Hopkins, but I bet I'll see people from RM.
Do I even like the people from RM?
Random people I discuss my plans with tell me that I should apply to the school of my dreams as long as I have a safety. I'm sorry, but I think that's complete bull. Personally, the school of my dreams is Princeton, but I am not going to get in. Applying will merely be a waste of $50. Seriously, that comment is so pointless and false. Those that tell me to apply to Princeton say that "you never know, they might be hoping to fill a spot wiht a qualification you fill." Yeah, right." Maybe if I were Latino. But of course that comment's not PC.
:: Alina 6:23 PM
So i miss a piano lesson because my dad comes late, and end up showing up 40 min. into the Mr. RM competition, which is basically a bunch of senior guys acting quite amusing. The show is staged like a beauty pagent: formal wear, beach wear, dance/song numbers, talent display, and a series of Q's for the guys. Along with that, they had a pickup line contest, during which Barry turned UBER nerd:
:I wish i was a derivitive so i could lie tangent to your curves"
Consering the amount of times i said it, it should have gotten OLD quick...except that it was AWESOME!
Karthik's special version for Lisa ~
" i wish I was an intergral so my area could lie under your curves"
During the questioning, one of the guys was asked "if you could spend three hours in your room, ALONE, what would you do?"
A: "i was look at pictures on the internet....yes pictures...of landscapes and kittens and stuff...yeah...cause i like pictures"
:: Alina 1:44 AM
Guess who's OFFICIALLY licenced by the state of Maryland?
Sharon: "tell me when you'll be driving, and I'll stay away from that general vicinity."
That test line was a bitch.... i'd scheduled an appointment at 9:15, and i took my test around 12.
All i need is car....
Parental Unit: "hahahaa....you're funny, Alina. Oh wait...you were serious."
:: Alina 12:57 PM
crap! i just wanted to devote a minute to a blog's true purpose: complaining.
so ive got a Sh*tload of work:)
AND TOK is due....AUGH!!! AND ive gotta work on the math studies project i've neglected for 2 years...and Phys, Math not so much, ummmm....a lotta stuff..
Plus...Piano friday (which I must actually PRACTICE for,) Voice sat. Auditions/ competition(s).....and THATS ALL DURING JEKYLL and HYDE REHERSAL. Lemme me one of many to say AHHHH!
and my jaw is numb(today is that wonderful wednesday.)
I talked to Josh today....waiting for the bus in the cold, and im telling him that i can't feel half of my face. His response: "root canal's are fun!" Uh huh. That's an....interesting anwser. I'll stick to...it wasn't bad....err...it didn't hurt at all(obviously.) Much better than i thought such would go. I really do love my Sonicare....it shouldn't of happened and it wont.
Let's just say i was in Dau.
:: Alina 8:26 PM
so i hadn't updated my blog for half a year
I got into it at first...and then 11 grade IB started
And my grades suck.
I'm not the only one that complains. Godforbid everyone's grades are going down ze
toilette.
And thats All I have to say about that.
So much stuff has happened.
Isn't it great how our youth loves to characterize Hope, Love, Tradgety, Travesty in one
category of "stuff"?
I must say it is conveniant though.
I must also comment that i'm growing up
Like everyone else
and becoming a face in the crowd
(won't everyone be proud)
it's good stuff
oh...i forgot to mention i need a root canal. That sux, huh?
It's my own fault; "you make your own destiny"
( just finished watching Forrest Gump)
its a wonderful movie
especially when you're sick
So im slowly being molded into the fat slothish american with bad teeth.
Soon I'll be able to distinguish between the Dallas Cowboys and the NY Yankees.
:: Alina 5:49 PM
|