|
|
:: Friday, July 22, 2005 ::
Okay, so my dad just got pissed at me....again. I know! It's like the 3rd time this week. It's the whole thing with my grandfather. He needs someone to babysit him, and ergo someone needs to be paid to do it. My dad asked me (about a week ago) to do it....and I said no....there was a whole big shtick with him that if he was going to pay someone to do it, he wanted me to do it. It's my last summer before college... and i finally am hanging out and having fun these days! I don't want to sit all day with my grandfather. So after getting terribly mad at me for saying no, we worked it out, and even though I never actually said yes, I ended up being his sitter. Wonderful. I seriously told my dad that I didn't want his money, and I would do all I could, but I can't do everything. We had agreed, that while my grandfather was asleep I could go out. Since my grandfather sleeps like an hr 1/2, I could drive over to Jill's and play DDR. Besides, I spent all day yesterday with him, and it was truely the most boring and dull day of my life without rest, since every few minutes my grandfather would call me over (which meant running up the stairs) and asking to help him take the bus somewhere or do something he couldn't physically do, that I had to then explain to him he couldn't do. Then the phone would ring and I would run downstairs, only to find the caller having hung up, and hearing my cell phone then go off and running again upstairs to catch that. I mean, i really want to help him, but i don't want to be there 24/7. Anyhoo, so today we had agreed that I would go over to Jill's after giving my grandfather lunch, returning to check on him, and then at 5:30 heading over to an important meeting at work. I turned out my dad hadn't left by the time I left for Jill's, so i left first. When we came back to my house to check on him, he had falled down...not sideways but at the foot of his bed. How he had managed such a feat? Who knows. Anyway, so (thank you JILL!) we managed to get him back into his bed, when soon after he fell asleep. I called my dad to tell him what had happened, and he seemed to start crying or whatnot, exclaiming that if only I had been there instead of playing my stupid games. Anyway, soon afterward I had to leave for work; I hadn't fed him, but he was asleep, so there was really nothing I could have done. Driving back, I got 3 angry messages from my dad about not being able to reach him, and when I called him back, telling him I was at work, he got totally angry about me going to work. I have to go to work. seriously. We'd discussed it, yet my dad went balistic. Still balistic. He won't talk to me, and yells at me if I even dare be in the living room. I find that unfair. I understand his situation, I'm trying to help, but he can't expect me to quit my job in order to take care of my grandfather. I see taking care of him as a duty, and I do all I can, but when my dad first asked me to do this, I told him to hire someone else. I told him I couldn't sit with him all day.
URG!
oy.... that's quite a rant.
:: Alina 9:16 PM
Comments:
|